Blew my first engine today

Let me put it this way: my first TRX 3.3 is history. After multiple problems during my last sessions I finally managed to blow my first nitro engine ever. No regrets, no remorse, I do exactly know why it has happened. The Motorsaver airfilter I switched to has been the main factor – I did not really compensate enough for the increased airflow by richen up the HSN enough. The engine just over-revved (though I had plenty of blue smoke all the time). The glow-plug showed it afterwards: there was nothing left in the glow plug every last bit of the glow-wire melted away and fell into the cylinder which ultimatley caused the engine to go very high on rpm and thus (not breaking) but severly damaging the connecting rod connection to the piston.


I will send the engine to Traxxas to make use of the ERP they offer. At least I will get a new engine at half the price! Luckily I have a spare engine in my stock so I will be mounting it and do the break-in very soon.

No pictures taken – the sight was just too sad, I just want to remember this failure literally literally.

Leave a Reply

